Committee 2023-2024

ADAS Committee members

Co-Presidents: Ali Hallaj, Marta Vilademunt, Houwayda Belaid
Secretaries:    Roberto Avendaño
Treasurer:     Evgeniya Trofimenko
Webmaster:Nicholay Diaz Ardila
Moderators:Philipp Walch, Sarah Hornfeck
Graphic Designer:Francisco Tomas Ribeiro
Active member:  Bevika Sewgoolam
Active member:  Flavio Ferreira
Active member:  Hammam Antar
Active member:  Joanna Wojcik
Active member:  Irmak Cabas
Active member:  Kevin Dzi
Active member:  Margot Renard
Active member:  Maya Houmel
Active member:Melissa Frund
Active member:  Nadia Elshareif
Active member:  Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev
Active member:  Ophélie Gosselin
Active member:  Shivali Dongre
Active member:  Tiberiu Nita

List of committees with ADAS representation

School of Biology Council:Evgeniya Trofimenko, Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev
Doctoral School Council: Maya Houmel, Roberto Avendaño, Ali Hallaj, Irmak Cabas
Faculty council:Evgeniya Trofimenko, Philipp Walch, Houwayda Belaid
University council:Houwayd Belaud
Appeal committee: Mélissa Frund, Ali Hallaj
Research Committee:Philipp Walch, Ophélie Gosselin, Tiberiu Nita
Fundamental Sciences section Council:Ali Hallaj, Houwayd Belaud
Masters’ Prize Committee:Melissa Frund, Ali Hallaj
Commission de la Relève: Evgeniya Trofimenko, Philipp Walch
“Société Vaudoise des Sciences Naturelles” representative: Philipp Walch
Equal chance, diversity, and integration committee:Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev

Ali Hallaj


Ali is a second-year Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Biomedical Sciences. His Ph.D. project involves finding new molecules and methods that allow cell-penetrating peptides to escape endosomes.

Marta Vilademunt


I am a second-year Ph.D. student at the Toni Lab in the Center for Psychiatric Neurosciences (CHUV-UNIL). I am a neuroscientist interested in the role of microglia-astrocyte crosstalk in regulating adult hippocampal neurogenesis. 

Houwayda Belaid


I’m Houwayda Belaid, a fourth-year PhD student at UNIL researching renal acid-base balance. I’m also part of the advisory board for the American Physiological Society. Committed to sustainability, I assist in recycling bikes at Recyclo in Lausanne, promoting affordable rentals and environmental conservation

Roberto Avendaño


Roberto is a PhD in the Schaerli group (DMF, UNIL). He works on synthetic circuits for engineering bacterial living materials.

Evgeniya Trofimenko


Evgeniya is a Postdoc in the Department of Biomedical Sciences-UNIL.
Her research is focused on deciphering the cellular membrane trafficking of small peptide vectors.

Nicholay Diaz Ardila


Nicholay is a fourth-year Ph.D. student at the Department of Plant Molecular Biology at UNIL. He is studying the pH effects on CLE peptide perception in Arabidopsis thaliana.

Philipp Walch


Philipp is a Postdoc in the Department of Immunobiology DIB-UNIL. His research centers around host-pathogen interactions, specifically the impact of enteric bacterial-viral co-infections on the host innate immune response.

Sarah Hornfeck


Sarah is a first-year Ph.D. student at the Department of Biomedical Sciences. Her Ph.D. project investigates different proteins involved in the endocytosis of cell-penetrating peptides.

Francisco Tomas Ribeiro

Graphic Designer

Bevika Sewgoolam

Active Member

Bevika is a second-year Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Fundamental Microbiology at UNIL. Her PhD research focuses on understanding antibiotic resistance in the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae.

Flavio Ferreira

Active Member

Hammam Antar

Active Member

Hammam is a third-year PhD student at the Department of Fundamental Microbiology DMF-UNIL. He is interested in studying proteins and factors involved in chromosome organization and maintenance in bacteria.

Irmak Cabas

Active Member

Irmak is a third-year Ph.D. student in the Center for Psychiatric Neuroscience, CHUV. She is working on the molecular mechanisms of depression using mouse as a model organism. 

Kevin Dzi

Active Member

Kevin, a second-year Ph.D. student at IHM, UNIL-CHUV, is enrolled in FBM’s innovative PhD program. His research centers on healthcare equity, the well-being of healthcare professionals, and bioethics.

Margot Renard

Active Member

Maya Houmel

Active member

Ph.D. candidate, a predoctoral researcher at FBM, UNIL.

Mélissa Frund

Active member

Mélissa is currently a second-year PhD candidate at the Microbiology Institute of the CHUV. Her thesis is focused on the bacterial cell membrane and cell division mechanism of Acinetobacter baumannii.

Nadia Elshareif

Active Member

Nadia is a 1st year PhD candidate in the Mansuy-Aubert lab in the Department of Biomedical Sciences here at UNIL. She is studying the role of the maternal gut microbiome in offspring neuronal development and metabolic function.

Natalia Gaarslev

Active member

Natalia is a Ph.D. student in the lab of Sebastian Soyk (DBMV, UNIL). She works on developmental plant genetics with a focus on transcriptome dynamics in the inflorescences of the model crop tomato

Ophélie Gosselin

Active Member

Ophélie is a fourth-year Ph.D. student at the Department of Fundamental Microbiology DMF-UNIL. She is studying proteins involved in chromosome organization and maintenance in the bacterial model Bacillus subtillis.

Shivali Dongre

Active member

Shivali is a second-year Ph.D. student at the Centre for Integrative Genomics at UNIL. She focuses on Transcription Factor clusters in the nucleus of zebrafish embryos, to dissect the molecular requirements of clustering.

Tiberiu Nita

Active member

Joanna Wojcik

Active member

I’m a second-year PhD student at the Department of Biomedical Sciences with CHUV affiliation. My project focused on the development and migration of GnRH neurons.