Committee 2022-2023

ADAS Committee members

Co-Presidents: Hammam Antar, Ophélie Gosselin, Sedreh Nassirnia
Secretaries:    Roberto Avendaño, Ali Hallaj
Treasurer:     Evgeniya Trofimenko
Webmasters:Afonso Bravo, Nicholay Diaz Ardila
Moderators:Ludivine Brandt, Philipp Walch
Graphic Designer:Irina Terekhova
Active member:  Bevika Sewgoolam
Active member:  Erfan Heidari
Active member:  Marta Vilademunt
Active member:  Maya Houmel
Active member:  Mélissa Frund
Active member:  Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev
Active member:  Nicholay Diaz Ardila
Active member:  Shivali Dongre
Active member:  Tiberiu Nita

List of committees with ADAS representation

School of Biology council:Evgeniya Trofimenko, Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev
Doctoral School council: Maya Houmel, Roberto Avendaño
Faculty council:Sedreh Nassirnia, Hammam Antar, Evgeniya Trofimenko
University council:No one
Appeal committee: Ludivine Brandt, Mélissa Frund
Research committeeMaya Houmel, Philipp Walch
Fundamental Sciences section council:Erfan Heidari, Hammam Antar
Masters’ Prize Committee:Ludivine Brandt
“Société Vaudoise des Sciences Naturelles” representative: Ophélie Gosselin, Philipp Walch
Equal chance, diversity, and integration committee:Natalia Gonzalez Gaarslev
Commission on Scientific Succession:Ophélie Gosselin

Hammam Antar


Hammam is currently a third year PhD student at the department of fundamental microbiology DMF-UNIL. He is interested in studying proteins and factors involved in chromosome organization and maintenance in bacteria.

Ophélie Gosselin


Ophélie is a third year PhD student at the department of fundamental microbiology DMF-UNIL. She is studying proteins involved in chromosome organization and maintenance in the bacterial model Bacillus subtillis.

Sedreh Nassirnia


I’m a bioinformatician and third year PhD student at the University Hospital of Lausanne (CHUV) specializing in clinical metagenomics. I work with large-scale genomic data to identify and analyze microbial communities in clinical samples and their association with diseases.

Roberto Avendaño


Roberto is a PhD in the Schaerli group (DMF, UNIL). He works on synthetic circuits for engineering bacterial living materials.

Ali Hallaj


Ali is a first year PhD candidate at the Department of Biomedical Sciences. His PhD project revolves around finding new molecules and methods that allow cell penetrating peptides to escape endosomes.

Evgeniya Trofimenko


Evgeniya is a Postdoc in the Department of Biomedical Sciences-UNIL.
Her research is focused on deciphering the cellular membrane trafficking of small peptide vectors.

Afonso Bravo


Afonso is currently pursuing a PhD position at the Veening Lab (DMF – UNIL). He is a microbiologist working with CRISPRi-Seq on Streptococcus pneumoniae, with a deep passion for Python programing.

Nicholay Diaz Ardila


Nicholay is a second-year Ph.D. student at the Department of Plant Molecular Biology at UNIL. He is studying the pH effects on CLE peptide perception in Arabidopsis thaliana.

Ludivine Brandt


Ludivine is a fourth year PhD student at the institute of microbiology, at CHUV. She is interested in finding cellular determinants of permissiveness to HIV.

Philipp Walch


Philipp is a Postdoc in the Department of Immunobiology DIB-UNIL. His research centers around host-pathogen interactions, specifically the impact of enteric bacterial-viral co-infections on the host innate immune response.

Irina Terekhova

Graphic Designer

3d year PhD candidate UNIL/ IHM (CHUV). Working on an interdisciplinary thesis in the intersection of History of Psychiatry and History of Art

Bevika Sewgoolam

Active Member

Bevika is currently a second year PhD candidate at the Department of Fundamental Microbiology at UNIL. Her PhD research focuses on understanding antibiotic resistance in the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae.

Erfan Heidari

Active member

Erfan is a second year Ph.D. student at the Centre for Integrative Genomics. For his Ph.D. thesis, he works on functional genomics approaches, to map the genetic interaction of human genes at mutation level.

Marta Vilademunt

Active member

I am a first year PhD student at the Toni Lab in the Center for Psychiatric Neurosciences (CHUV-UNIL). I am a neuroscientist interested in the role of microglia-astrocyte crosstalk in the regulation of adult hipocampal neurogenesis. 

Maya Houmel

Active member

PhD candidate, predoctoral researcher at FBM, UNIL.

Mélissa Frund

Active member

Mélissa is currently a first year PhD candidate at the Microbiology institute of the CHUV. Her thesis is focused on the bacterial cell membrane and cell division mechanism of Acinetobacter baumannii.

Natalia Gaarslev

Active member

Natalia is a Ph.D. student in the lab of Sebastian Soyk (CIG, UNIL). She works on developmental plant genetics with a focus on natural genetic variation and transcriptome dynamics in the inflorescences of the model crop tomato

Shivali Dongre

Active member

Shivali is a second year PhD student at the Centre for Integrative Genomics at UNIL. She focuses on Transcription Factor clusters in the nucleus of zebrafish embryos, to dissect the molecular requirements of clustering.

Tiberiu Nita

Active member