Previous workshops


Historical perspectives

 

The first “Alpine Workshop” has been organized in 1993 in Grenoble (France) under the name “Géoatelier alpin”. From the subsequent meeting (Basel,

Tectonic map of the Alps with locations of the previous workshops.

Switzerland 1995) the conference changed its name in “Alpine Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies”, a name that will be used up to 2011 (Saint Florent, Corsica). 2013 represents an important year in the history of the “Alpine Workshop” that officially became an EGU (European Geosciences Union) meeting, assuming the name of “Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies”. The name was chosen in honour of one of the greatest Alpine geologists, namely Emile Argand (1879-1940), whose masterpieces are an exceptionally fine geological map of the Dent Blanche nappe and large-scale syntheses (from the Alps to Eurasia). E. Argand was a convinced mobilist, expanding ideas from E. Suess and A. Wegener.

 

Argand E. (1911) – Les nappes de recouvrement des Alpes Pennines et leur prolongement structuraux. Mat. carte géol. Suisse, N.S., XXXI livr.

Argand E. (1916) – Sur l’arc des Alpes Occidentales. Eclogae geologicae Helvetiae (Lausanne), 14, pp. 145-192.

Argand E. (1924) – La Tectonique de l’Asie. Compte-rendu du XIIIe Congrès géologique international (Belgique,1922), 1, p. 171-372.

 

From 1993 to today, eight European countries have hosted the “Alpine Workshop”. In most cases, the meetings have been organized by collaborative teams, formed by scientists from different countries. Several special volumes have been published after the meetings, collecting works presented in the form of talks and posters during the workshops.

This map  documents the history of the Emile Argand Conference. It shows nicely how the entire Alpine geological community has contributed through time to the success of this meeting.

 


OVERVIEW

14. Sion 2019

Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies

(14th Alpine Workshop)

Sion (Switzerland) – 04-06 September 2019

Organising Committee
Paola Manzotti | paola.manzotti@geo.su.se
Othmar Müntener | othmar.muntener@unil.ch
Stefan Schmalholz |
Frédéric Herman |
Lorenzo Candioti |

Publication: Swiss Journal of Geosciences

 

13. Zlatibor 2017

Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies

(13th Alpine Workshop)

Zlatibor (Serbia) – 7-18 September 2017

Organising Committee
Vladica Cvetkovi? | cvladica@rgf.bg.ac.rs
Kristina Šari? | kristina.saric@rgf.bg.ac.rs

Publication: Swiss Journal of Geosciences, 112 (1), 2019

 

12. Montgenèvre/Briançon 2015

Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies

(12th Alpine Workshop)

Montgenève/Briançon (France) – 13-19 September 2015

Organising Committee
Christian Sue | csue@univ-fcomte.fr
Gianreto Manatschal | manat@unistra.fr
Raymond Cirio | cirio.raymond@wanadoo.fr

Publication: Swiss Journal of Geosciences, 110 (2), 2017

 

11. Schladming 2013

Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies

(11th Alpine Workshop)

Schladming (Austria) – 7-14 September 2013

Organising Committee
Walter Kurz | walter.kurz@uni-graz.at
Harald Fritz | harald.fritz@uni-graz.at
Kurt Krenn | kurt.krenn@uni-graz.at
Hans-Jürgen Gawlick | hans-juergen.gawlick@unileoben.ac.at
Sigrid Missoni | s.missoni@daad-alumni.de
Ralf Schuster | ralf.schuster@geologie.ac.at

Abstracts and Field Guides: Berichte der Geologischen Bundesanstalt  99, 2013. PDF available under

https://www.geologie.ac.at/produkte-shop/textpublikationen/zeitschriften/berichte_der_geologischen_bundesanstalt/

 

10. Corsica 2011

12th Alpine Workshop “CorseAlp2011”

Saint Florent (Corsica, France) – 12-13 April 2011

Organising Committee
Giancarlo Molli | giancarlo.molli@unipi.it
Jacques Malavieille | malavieille@gm.univ-montp2.fr

Publication:Tectonophysics, 579, 2012

09. Cogne 2009

9th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Cogne (Italy) – 16-18 September 2009

Organising Committee
Michel Ballèvre | michel.ballevre@univ-rennes1.fr
Marco Beltrando |
Mark Handy | mark.handy@fu-berlin.de
Claudio Rosenberg | claudio.rosenberg@upmc.fr

Publication: International Journal of Earth Sciences, 100 (5), 2011

 

08. Davos 2007

8th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Davos (Switzerland) – 10-12 october 2007

Organising committee
Stefan Schmid | stefan.schmid@unibas.ch
Nikolaus Froitzheim | niko.froitzheim@uni-bonn.de

Publication: Swiss Journal of Geosciences, 101 (1 – Supplement), 2008

 

07. Opatija 2005

7th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Opatija (Croatia) – 29 September – 01 October 2005

Organising Committee
Bruno Tomljenovi? | bruno.tomljenovic@rgn.hr
Dražen Balen | drbalen@geol.pmf.hr
Igor Vlahovi? | igor.vlahovic@rgn.hr

Abstract volume published by Croatian Geological Survey Zagreb

 

06. Sopron 2003

6th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Sopron (Hungary) – 14.9. – 16.9. 2003

Organising Committee
Frank Horvath and others |

Abstract volume: Annales Universitatis Scientiarium Budapestinensis de Rolando Eötvös Nominatae, Sectio Geologica 35

 

05. Obergurgl 2001

5th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Obergurgl (Austria) – September 2001

Organising Committee
Hugo Ortner | hugo.ortner@uibk.ac.at
Peter Tropper | hugo.ortner@uibk.ac.at

All field guides have been published in Geologisch-Paläontologische Mitteilungen Innsbruck, 26 (2003)

 

04. Tübingen 1999

4th Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Tübingen (Germany) – 21-24 September 1999

Organising Committee
Wolfgang Frisch | frisch@uni-tuebingen.de
Neil Mancktelow | neil.mancktelow@erdw.ethz.ch

Publication: International Journal of Earth Sciences, 90/3, 2001

 

03. Oròpa-Biella 1997

3rd Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Oròpa-Biella (Italy) – 29 September – 01 October 1997

Organising Committee
Guido Gosso |
Flavio Jadoul |
Arrigo Gregnanin |
Bruno Messiga |
Maria Iole Spalla | iole.spalla@unimi.it
Mattia Sella | mattia.sella@unimi.it

Publication: Memorie di Scienze Geologiche, 51, 1999

 

02. Basel 1995

2nd Workshop on Alpine Geological Studies

Basel (Switzerland)

Organising Committee
Stefan Schmid | stefan.schmid@unibas.ch
Nikolaus Froitzheim | niko.froitzheim@uni-bonn.de
Renée Heilbronner | renee.heilbronner@unibas.ch
Holger Stünitz | holger.stunitz@uit.no
Martin Frey |

Publication: Eclogae Geologicae Helvetiae, 89 (1), 1996

 

01. Grenoble 1993

Géoatelier alpin

Grenoble (France)

Organising Committee
Pierre Tricart |
Georges Mascle |
Arnaud Pêcher |