Collective Dynamics, Social (De-)Regulation and Public Spheres

Beyond their empirical and theoretical divergences, most sociologists would agree that these two last decades have been characterized by a weakening of social cohesion, a « decline of institutions », the dissolution of collective actors, and the dismantling of the public sphere. A number of studies have shown that the trend towards social deregulation, which usually goes hand-in-hand with “neo-liberal” inspired policy measures, tend to undermine collective structures and destabilize traditional instances of regulation (trade unions, professional associations, rights-based welfare protection systems, etc.). Not only do these processes of decollectivisation weaken public institutions, they also jeopardize any reference to the general interest, to the common good and to a universal system of rights and obligations. By placing high value on private initiative, personal autonomy and individual responsibility, such processes lead to the individualization of life courses and to reduced engagement with public life, thereby increasing the vulnerability of certain fringes of the population (migrants, the elderly, the unemployed, the working poor, poorly-qualified young people, etc.). Furthermore, the usually opaque functioning of political institutions, further reinforced by the growing number of political decisions made in the name of economic imperatives, tends to bypass public processes of deliberation.

Although significant, these processes of individualization and deregulation are nevertheless accompanied by unprecedented forms of collective action. Some research has revealed the emergence of new forms of social and political mobilization (mainly via social networks), innovative modes of coordination (e.g. the Anonymous collective) and groups structured by new organizational principles (e.g. the Indignant Citizens Movement). The definition of certain public problems (e.g. same-sex couples, ecology) also contributes to the emergence of new – individual or collective – actors on the political scene and in the media. Although they often appear in fluctuating and ephemeral forms, these actors contribute to the reconfiguration of the public sphere and to the elaboration of new systems of regulation, including through law. They are also characterized by new kinds of social, political and identity claims that should encourage sociologists to renew their approach to regulation. Indeed only an broad conception of politics, extending far beyond formal institutions, can account for the plurality of practices and the multiple arenas where new norms are potentially created, and sometimes translated into law and policy measures.

Sociological investigation into the processes of social fragmentation should therefore be articulated with the study of new and diverse forms of social cohesion, and with the examination of new instances of social regulation, both on the microsocial scale of intimate relationships, social networks and the life course, and on the more macrosocial scale of the social groups that attempt to impose new identity, cultural or religious landmarks in the public sphere. Such issues are fundamentally sociological in nature, because they focus on new individual and collective dynamics of social regulation. But such they also raise political questions, since these dynamics may generate new processes of social differentiation, hierarchisation and exclusion that current policy measures are unable or unwilling to address.

The aim of the Congress is to examine how these issues are tackled in different contexts and in different research fields. This requires addressing questions of theory and of research methods. For instance, how central should material inequalities and structural configurations be to the study of collective dynamics across the life course? How can research on the semantic and normative properties of public processes be attentive to the influence of structural configurations? Can we analyze social phenomena of this kind from an individualist perspective or should we favor analytical tools that immediately stress their collective dimension?

The 2015 Congress will focus on these fundamental questions.

Kollektive Dynamiken, soziale (De-)Regulierung und Öffentlichkeit

Zahlreiche SoziologInnen diagnostizierten in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten eine Auflösung sozialer Bindungen. „Soziale Fragmentierung“, „Niedergang der Institutionen“, „Auflösung von Kollektivstrukturen“ oder „Erosion der Öffentlichkeit“ sind die Stichworte dazu. Studien zeigen, wie der Trend zur sozialen Deregulierung – namentlich im Rahmen von „neoliberalen“ Politiken – Prozesse der Entkollektivisierung in Gang setzt, welche traditionelle Regulationsinstanzen wie Gewerkschaften, Berufsverbände oder die soziale Wohlfahrt ins Wanken bringen. Diese Prozesse bedrohen nicht nur die öffentlichen Institutionen, die Güter welche sie herstellen und die Dienstleistungen die sie erbringen. Sie untergraben auch Verweise auf das Allgemeinwohl und das Ideal einer Sozialordnung mit für alle gültigen Rechten und Pflichten. Die diskursive Überhöhung von Privatinitiative, persönlicher Autonomie und individueller Verantwortung führten zu einer Individualisierung der Lebensläufe und der Vernachlässigung des öffentlichen Raumes. Dies hat auch die Verletzlichkeit bestimmter sozialer Gruppen, wie MigrantInnen, älterer Menschen, Arbeitsloser, Working Poor oder ausbildungsloser Jugendlichen erhöht. Die zuweilen undurchsichtige Funktionsweise politischer Institutionen – bei gleichzeitiger Beschleunigung der im Namen ökonomischer Imperative getroffener Entscheidungen – führt zu einer Kurzschliessung und Umgehung der öffentlichen Debatte.

Gleichzeitig werden diese Individualisierungs- und Deregulierungsprozesse von kollektiven Dynamiken und von neuen Formen sozialer Bindungen begleitet. So zeigen zahlreiche Arbeiten das Aufkommen kreativer Formen sozialer und politischer Mobilisierung (namentlich über soziale Netzwerke), zivilgesellschaftlicher Zusammenschlüsse (z.B. in Quartieren), dezentraler Koordinationsprozesse (wie im Kollektiv Anonymous) oder von Gruppen mit neuen Organisationsformen (die „Indignados“ in Spanien, Occupy Wallstreet). Die Konstruktion öffentlicher Probleme und die Lancierung neuer Debatten (homosexuelle Paare, Umweltschutz) gehen mit dem Eintritt neuer individueller und kollektiver Akteure in die mediale und politische Arena einher. Obschon diese Kollektive oft flüchtig und fluktuierend sind, trägt deren Aufkommen zur Neuordnung der Öffentlichkeit und zur Formulierung neuer Regulationsdispositive bei, namentlich auf rechtlicher Ebene. In den letzten Jahrzehnten äusserten diese aufkommenden Kollektive neuartige soziale, politische und identitäre Forderungen. Diese neuen Ansprüche laden die Soziologie dazu ein, ihren regulationstheoretischen Ansatz aufzufrischen: zum Beispiel durch eine erweiterte Definition des Politischen, das künftig über die staatliche und institutionelle Sphäre hinausgeht und in eine Vielfalt von Arenen ausstrahlt. Oder durch einen geschärften Blick auf die Vielfalt juristischer und politischer Strategien zur Schaffung neuer Normen und Regulierungen.

Die soziologische Erkundung des bröckelnden sozialen Kitts muss also ergänzt werden mit der Analyse vielfältiger, oft zögerlicher Formen der Rekonstruktion sozialer Bindungen. Solche neuen Formen sozialer Regulation können sowohl auf der mikrosozialen Ebene der Familie, des sozialen Netzwerkes und des Lebenslaufs beobachtet werden; oder makrosozial in Bezug auf soziale Gruppen, welche versuchen, im öffentlichen Raum neue identitäre, kulturelle oder religiöse Leitbilder durchzusetzen. Die Untersuchung neuer Formen kollektiver Dynamiken, Regulationen und Strategien des „sichtbar Machens“ gehört zum historischen Kern des soziologischen Fragekatalogs. Zugleich sind es soziale und politische Fragen: denn oft führen Regulationsformen zu Mustern der sozialen Ausdifferenzierung und Hierarchisierung, welche nicht in das herkömmliche Raster wohlfahrtsstaatlicher Sicherung passen.

Ziel dieses Kongresses ist es zu untersuchen, wie sich diese Fragen der De- und Neuregulierung in den verschiedenen Gesellschafts- und Forschungsfeldern artikulieren. Dazu gehört auch eine Befragung der verwendeten Forschungsperspektiven und Methoden: welche Rolle kann oder soll die Analyse sozioökonomischer Bedingungen in der Untersuchung von kollektiven Dynamiken und Lebensläufen spielen? Wie kann das Studium semantischer und normativer Aspekte kollektiver Dynamiken und öffentlicher Prozesse mit strukturellen Analysen kombiniert werden? Können soziale Phänomene mit individualistischen Theorien begriffen werden oder ist kollektivistischen Perspektiven der Vorzug zu geben?