Where does school stop? Transformations and shifts of educational boundaries

The prolonging of education in general and the development of lifelong learning have moved the traditional boundaries in education. New forms of teaching and learning are becoming part of everyday practices and relationships. Bodies of knowledge themselves are transformed or challenged through public debates about social issues. Nowadays, societal challenges, which are shaking up debates on citizenship, the use of technology and environmental issues, are also evident in school. As a consequence, the boundaries between education, everyday life and professional activity are transformed, moved and blurred.

The Annual Conference of the Swiss Society for Research in Education (SSRE) aims to question and discuss the main challenges inherent in these changes. Researchers are invited to propose a contribution with a specific focus on the following themes:

  1. The relation between training/education, everyday life and professional life (school-family relationships, integration and inclusion processes, prevention programmes, education on sensitive social issues, etc.)
  2. Education policies (transformation of educational organisations and programmes, political and institutional challenges in relation to education and training, debates on citizenship education, vocational training and unemployment, etc.);
  3. The transformation of educational professions (changes in the training of trainers or in educational provision and materials, health and safety at work, etc.)
  4. Transitions and orientations (in school; between school and vocational training or professional life; between professional life and retirement; inequality processes and practices of differentiation; redefinition of identity, etc.)
  5. Lifelong learning (the contribution of longitudinal studies, the challenges of continuing professional development, life stories, etc.)
  6. Material mediations (the role of mediation tools and objects, media, image and ICT, electronic games and social networks, etc.).

Beyond these themes, researchers will be invited to submit proposals about research projects in progress and pertaining to all domains of educational science. The conference languages are French, German, Italian and English.

Wo endet die Schule ? Transformation und Verschiebung der Bildungsgrenzen

Die allgemeine Verlängerung der Schulzeit und die Entwicklungen hin zum lebenslangen Lernen führen zu einer Verschiebung der klassischen Bildungsgrenzen. Neue Lehr- und Lernformen erobern Alltagspraktiken und -beziehungen. Zu Fragen nach Fachkenntnissen reihen sich Kontroversen um aktuelle soziale Probleme. Debatten über Staatsbürgerschaft, den Einsatz moderner Technologien und Umweltfragen halten Einzug in die Schule. Die Grenzen zwischen Bildung, Alltag und Beruf lockern immer mehr auf, verschieben und verändern sich.

Auf dem Jahreskongress der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Bildungsforschung (SGBF) werden wichtige Themen rund um diese Transformationsprozesse hinterfragt und diskutiert. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sind dazu eingeladen, Beiträge auf den unterschiedlichsten Perspektiven – Individuen, Gemeinschaften, Bildungsinstitutionen, Bildungs- und Forschungspolitik — und zu den folgenden Themenschwerpunkten einzureichen:

  1. Beziehungen zwischen Bildung, Alltag und Beruf (Beziehungen Familie-Schule, Prozesse der Integration und der Inklusion, Präventionsprogramme, spezielle Fördermassnahmen, etc.)
  2. Bildungspolitik (Transformation schulischer Einrichtungen und Programme, politische und institutionelle Herausforderungen in Aus- und Weiterbildung, Debatten über Staatsbürgerschaft, Berufsbildung, Arbeitslosigkeit etc.)
  3. Transformation pädagogischer Berufe (Änderungen in der Ausbildung von Berufsbildnern, Bestimmungen und didaktische Methoden, Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz etc.).
  4. Übergangs- und Orientierungsprozesse (berufliche und schulische (Re­)Orientierung, Abbrüche, Übergänge zwischen einzelnen Schulstufen, von der Ausbildung zur beruflichen Tätigkeit und in den Ruhestand, Prozesse sozialer Ungleichheiten und Differenzierung, fragmentierte Zugehörigkeiten und Neuzusammensetzung von Identitäten etc.).
  5. Lebenslanges Lernen (Beitrag von Längsschnittuntersuchungen, Fragen der Berufs- und Weiterbildung, Lebensverläufe etc.).
  6. Medialisierung (Rolle von Objekten und Werkzeugen der Medialisierung, von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien [ICT), von elektronischen Spielen und sozialen Netzwerken für Entwicklung und Bildung etc.).

Die Forschenden sind gebeten, Beiträge zu aktuellen Projekten einzureichen, auch wenn diese über das Kongressthema hinausgehen und andere relevante Bereiche der Bildungswissenschaften abdecken. Kongresssprachen sind Französisch, Deutsch, Italienisch und Englisch.