Where does school stop? Transformations and shifts of educational boundaries

The prolonging of education in general and the development of lifelong learning have moved the traditional boundaries in education. New forms of teaching and learning are becoming part of everyday practices and relationships. Bodies of knowledge themselves are transformed or challenged through public debates about social issues. Nowadays, societal challenges, which are shaking up debates on citizenship, the use of technology and environmental issues, are also evident in school. As a consequence, the boundaries between education, everyday life and professional activity are transformed, moved and blurred.

The Annual Conference of the Swiss Society for Research in Education (SSRE) aims to question and discuss the main challenges inherent in these changes. Researchers are invited to propose a contribution with a specific focus on the following themes:

  1. The relation between training/education, everyday life and professional life (school-family relationships, integration and inclusion processes, prevention programmes, education on sensitive social issues, etc.)
  2. Education policies (transformation of educational organisations and programmes, political and institutional challenges in relation to education and training, debates on citizenship education, vocational training and unemployment, etc.);
  3. The transformation of educational professions (changes in the training of trainers or in educational provision and materials, health and safety at work, etc.)
  4. Transitions and orientations (in school; between school and vocational training or professional life; between professional life and retirement; inequality processes and practices of differentiation; redefinition of identity, etc.)
  5. Lifelong learning (the contribution of longitudinal studies, the challenges of continuing professional development, life stories, etc.)
  6. Material mediations (the role of mediation tools and objects, media, image and ICT, electronic games and social networks, etc.).

Beyond these themes, researchers will be invited to submit proposals about research projects in progress and pertaining to all domains of educational science. The conference languages are French, German, Italian and English.

Où s’arrête l’école ? Transformations et déplacements des frontières éducatives

L’allongement général de la durée de la scolarité et le développement de la formation tout au long de la vie déplacent les frontières classiques de l’éducation. De nouvelles formes d’enseignement et d’apprentissage prennent place dans les pratiques et les relations quotidiennes. Les connaissances elles-mêmes se métissent dans les controverses autour des questions socialement vives. Certains enjeux sociétaux qui secouent aujourd’hui les débats sur la citoyenneté, l’usage des technologies ou les questions environnementales s’invitent à l’école. Les frontières entre éducation, vie quotidienne et activité professionnelle deviennent ainsi plus distendues, se déplacent et se transforment.

Le congrès annuel de la Société Suisse pour la Recherche en Education (SSRE) cherche à interroger et discuter les enjeux de ces transformations. Les chercheurs et chercheuses sont invité.e.s à proposer des contributions à différents niveaux — des individus, des collectifs, des institutions de formation, des politiques de l’éducation et de la recherche — en particulier autour des axes suivants :

  1. Relations entre formation, vie quotidienne et vie professionnelle (rapports famille-école, processus d’intégration et d’inclusion, programmes de prévention, « éducations à », etc.).
  2. Politiques de l’éducation (transformations des organisations et des programmes scolaires, enjeux politiques et institutionnels relatifs à l’éducation et à la formation, débats sur la citoyenneté, la formation professionnelle et le chômage, etc.).
  3. Transformation des métiers de l’éducation (changements dans la formation des formateurs, des dispositifs et des didactiques, santé au travail, etc.).
  4. Transitions et orientations (orientation ou réorientation scolaire et professionnelle, décrochages, passages entre cycles scolaires, de la formation à l’activité professionnelle et à la retraite, processus d’inégalités et pratiques de différenciation, fragmentation des appartenances et recompositions identitaires, etc.).
  5. Apprentissage tout au long de la vie (apports des études longitudinales, enjeux de la formation continue et professionnelle, histoires de vie, etc.).
  6. Médiations matérielles (le rôle des objets et outils de médiation, des MITIC, des jeux électroniques et réseaux sociaux dans le développement et la formation, etc.).

Au-delà du thème du congrès, les chercheurs et chercheuses seront invité·e·s à soumettre des contributions portant sur des projets actuels et relevant de tous les domaines des sciences de l’éducation. Les langues du congrès sont le français, l’allemand, l’italien et l’anglais.