Call for Papers

Digital texts processed by machines are linear strings of characters, but in most research activities in the Humanities (philology, linguistics, corpus-based analysis, cultural heritage, etc.) we store them in databases and we add markup to the text, that is a kind of intelligence made computable thanks to the use of widespread data-models, formats and standards.

In the last decades, the popularity of graph data-models has increased, in accordance with the semantic web proposition and the development of standards such as RDF and OWL. Graph databases, in the form of triple stores (such as Graph-DB) or of labeled-property-graphs (Neo4j), are regarded as powerful and flexible solutions by research and cultural institutions, and private companies alike.

The workshop is held to explore possible interactions between digital texts, the graph data-model, scholarly editions and the semantic web. The combinations of these objects/concepts, pursued in the last decades, remains experimental to date, and it represents one of the possible developments for the field of digital scholarly editing.

Contributions on one or more of the following topics are particularly welcome:

  • the conceptualization of text as graph;
  • the use of graph-databases for digital editions;
  • the semantic web resources for building digital scholarly editions;
  • the interoperability among digital texts through Linked Data Vocabularies;
  • the integration of graph flavoured data into XML documents.

We welcome contributions from those involved in the development of tailor-made solutions for small scale projects as well as of large-scale infrastructure, focused on the theory and/or on the practice of this happy or unhappy combination.

The workshop includes presentations and a working group session. Please note that the word ‘workshop’ means here a place for sharing ongoing research and not a hands-on training.

Invited speakers

  • Ronald Haentjens Dekker (Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences – Humanities Cluster)
  • Hans Cools, Roberta Laura Padlina (University of Basel – National Infrastructure for Editions)
  • Michele Pasin (Digital Science – Springer Nature)
  • Tobias Schweizer, Sepideh Alassi (University of Basel – Digital Humanities Lab)
  • Georg Vogeler (University of Graz)

Scientific committee

  • Gioele Barabucci (University of Cologne)
  • Fabio Ciotti (University of Rome Tor Vergata)
  • Claire Clivaz (Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
  • Marion Rivoal (DASCH – University of Lausanne)
  • Greta Franzini (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore)
  • Simon Gabay (University of Neuchâtel)
  • Daniel Maggetti (University of Lausanne)
  • Frederike Neuber (Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities)
  • Elena Pierazzo (University of Grenoble-Alpes)
  • Davide Picca (University of Lausanne)
  • Michael Piotrowski (University of Lausanne)
  • Matteo Romanello (EPFL)
  • Maïeul Rouquette (University of Lausanne)
  • Elena Spadini (University of Lausanne)
  • Francesca Tomasi (University of Bologna)
  • Aris Xanthos (University of Lausanne)


Important dates

9 December 2018 16 December 2018. Deadline for the submission of abstracts

14 January 2019 21 January 2019. Notification of acceptance

15 April 2019. Camera-ready version of the papers

3-4 June 2019. Workshop



Université de Lausanne – 1015 Lausanne – Switzerland


The language of the workshop is English.

Abstract submission

We invite researchers to submit abstracts for a 30 mins contribution (20 mins + 10 mins Q&A) by December 9, 2018. Abstracts will be reviewed double-blind by the members of the scientific committee and receive several independent reviews.

For submitting an abstract, please visit the EasyChair submission page:


Once logged in, you will be able to insert author information, title and keywords, to choose between the suggested topics and to upload an abstract (800-1000 words). The abstract should be drafted according to the following templates:

Camera-ready paper submission and proceedings publication

Please see the page Accepted papers.

Organization committee

  • Elena Spadini (University of Lausanne, CRLR)
  • Francesca Tomasi (University of Bologna)

With the support of

In collaboration with