New World – New Skills

In a world that is accelerating – driven not only by technological breakthroughs, but also by major societal changes and unprecedented environmental constraints – it is also important for humans to gain momentum to cope with change.

Indeed, these innovations accelerate the obsolescence of knowledge and skills. The lifespan of skills is drastically reduced, raising fears of de-skilling and downgrading, both among individuals who fear losing their jobs and in companies that have to manage their human capital.

Today’s jobs will not be tomorrow’s jobs and the gap is widening between the skills available today and the skills that will be needed in tomorrow’s labour market.

Based on this observation, given the urgency of the situation and the key role played by HEC Lausanne as a trainer of tomorrow’s decision-makers, the faculty decided to create a new and unique entity – the Future Skills LAB – to identify the evolution of professions and define the new skills portfolios that individuals must develop today to thrive in tomorrow’s world.

The Future Skills LAB – at the heart of an exceptional campus comprising 7 university faculties (UNIL) and the Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL) – is an observation, analysis and research entity for all issues related to the obsolescence and the updating of professional skills.

The Future Skills LAB, located at HEC Lausanne, collaborates with academic experts from all campus institutions as well as experts from the professional world. The association of these far-sighted, competent and informed experts, capable of understanding the challenges related to market disruptions and capable of innovation, but also strongly rooted in the reality of the labour market, will make it possible not only to identify the risks and opportunities related to this acceleration, but also to co-create a better future while making sure the right skills are being developed among students and learners.

New World – New Skills

Dans un monde en pleine accélération – induite non seulement par des ruptures technologiques, mais aussi par des évolutions sociétales importantes et des contraintes environnementales sans précédent – il est important que l’humain prenne lui aussi de la vitesse pour faire face aux changements.

En effet, ces innovations accélèrent l’obsolescence des connaissances et des compétences. La durée de vie des compétences diminue drastiquement, ce qui suscite des craintes de déqualification et de déclassement, tant parmi les individus qui craignent de perdre leurs emplois, que dans les entreprises qui doivent gérer leur capital humain.

Les emplois d’aujourd’hui ne seront pas les emplois de demain et le fossé s’accroît entre les compétences disponibles actuellement et les compétences qui seront nécessaires sur le marché du travail de demain.

Fort de ce constat, vu l’urgence de la situation et le rôle clé que joue HEC Lausanne en tant que formateur des décideurs de demain, la faculté a décidé de créer une entité unique – le Future Skills LAB – pour identifier l’évolution des métiers et définir les nouveaux portefeuilles de compétences que les individus doivent développer aujourd’hui pour prospérer dans le monde de demain.

Le Future Skills LAB – au centre d’un campus d’exception regroupant 7 facultés universitaires (UNIL) et une école fédérale (EPFL) – est une unité d’observation, d’analyse et de recherche pour toutes les questions liées à l’obsolescence et à la mise à jour des compétences professionnelles.

Le Future Skills LAB, situé à HEC Lausanne, collabore avec les experts académiques de toutes les institutions du campus ainsi qu’avec les experts du monde professionnel. L’association de ces experts clairvoyants, compétents et (in-)formés, capables de comprendre les enjeux liés aux disruptions du marché et capables d’innover, mais aussi fortement ancré dans la réalité du marché du travail, permettra non seulement d’identifier les risques et opportunités liées à cette accélération, mais aussi de co-créer un avenir meilleur.