EU-NN Board

Prof. Geert Mayer, President
Foto Mayer

Geert Mayer is Associate Professor in Neurology at the Philipps University in Marburg/Germany and the director of the Hephata Klinik in Schwalmstadt-Treysa/Germany. He has graduated from the Georg-August University in Göttingen/Germany where he also did his doctorate and habilitation. He specialized in psychiatry, psychotherapy and neurology. In the past 25 years he has worked in the field of sleep disorders. He owns degrees in German and European sleep medicine, epilepsy and EEG. He is a member of several national and international scientific societies. Dr. Mayer is the head of the “Task Force Polysomnography” for the German Society for Neurophysiology and Imaging, the head of the “Task Force Sleep Medicine” of the German Neurological Society. He has been the president of the German Sleep Society until 2012.He has been a founder of the European Narcolepsy Network and currently is the president. He has also been a founder of the “International RBD Study Group” for which he served as a secretary for one term. He has also served as the head of the “Clinical Committee” of the European Sleep Research Society for several years.
Dr. Mayer has published many articles in peer reviewed scientific journals and books and is a frequent speaker at national and international scientific meetings

Prof. Claudio Bassetti, Vice President
Bas, Portrait

Prof. Markku Partinen, Treasurer
Markku Partinen-1
Professor Markku Partinen, MD, PhD, is currently Director of the Helsinki Sleep Clinic, Vitalmed Research Centre, and Principal Investigator of Sleep Research at Institute of Clinical Medicine, University of Helsinki, Finland. He is leading the Nordic studies related to the H1N1 pandemic influenza and narcolepsy in the Nordic countries. He became interested in sleep research while studying medicine at the University of Montpellier, France. He obtained his medical degree (DrMed) from Montpellier in 1976 (Supervisor Prof Pierre Passouant). He received his PhD in 1982 (epidemiology of sleep disorders), and degree of a specialist in neurology in 1982, in Helsinki, Finland. He has worked as a postdoc researcher at Stanford University, USA in 1985-86 and in Bologna, Italy in 1987. In addition he has had several shorter visits as visiting researchers or visiting Professor at different Universities in Europe. His main interests in sleep medicine and sleep researcher have been sleep apnea, narcolepsy, parasomnias, restless legs, driving and sleep, and development of new methods to study sleep. He has published more than 300 International articles in peer reviewed Journals in addition to writing many book Chapters and editing several books. His Hirsch factor (H-factor) is 51 in ISI Web of Sciences and 53 in Scopus. He has served in the Editorial Boards and as Assistant Editor in Sleep, Journal of Sleep Research and Sleep Medicine. He is the founder and past President of the Finnish Sleep Research Society (1988) and Finnish Sleep Federation (1998). He has been a member of the ESRS since 1978. He is also a long-term member of the SRS, AASM and WASM. He has had many International positions in different research societies including Member of the Scientific Board and Vice-President of the European Sleep Research Society (ESRS), President of the Scandinavian Sleep Research Society, President Elect and President of the World Association of Sleep Medicine (WASM), Coordinating Secretary of the World Federation of Sleep Research Societies (WFSRS) and President and Member of the Board of the Scandinavian Sleep Research Society. He has been President of the ESRS congress in 1992 (Helsinki), the World Congress of Sleep Apnea in 2003 (Helsinki), and the WASM congress in 2007 (Bangkok). In addition he has organized several smaller meeting and symposia in the field of narcolepsy and different sleep disorders. Currently he is a Member of the Board in the ESRS EU-Narcolepsy Network (EU-NN) and Chair of Scientific Board of the EU-NN

Dr. Rolf Fronczek, Secretary

Rolf Fronczek is a neurologist in the Leiden University Medical Centre (LUMC) and in the Sleep-Wake Centre SEIN Heemstede in the Netherlands. After having gained his medical degree in Leiden, he completed his PhD with a focus on Narcolepsy and the Hypocretin System in 2008 at Leiden University and the Netherlands Institute for Brain Research in Amsterdam. In 2006, the European Sleep Research Society (ESRS) awarded his research with the Helgi Kristbjarnarson Award for innovative research. Dr. Fronczek is a member of several national and international scientific societies. He has published in numerous peer-reviewed journals and is a frequent speaker at national and international sleep meetings. In 2016 he became a member of the EU-NN.

Dr. Aleksandra Wierzbicka, Member at large
Aleksandra Wierzbicka is a consultant at the Department of Clinical Neurophysiology and Sleep Disorders Center in Institute of Psychiatry and Neurology in Warsaw (Poland). She has completed medical education at the Medical University of Warsaw. She is specialised in neurology and neurophysiology, with the focus on sleep disorders and epilepsy. She has been involved in sleep medicine for 15 years and became a leader of the reference center for diagnosing and treating of narcolepsy in Poland. She is a member of national and international scientific societies and author and coauthor of numerous publications. She was a fellow of the ESRS-Marie Curie Project “Training in Sleep Research and Sleep Medicine”.
Dr Wierzbicka is a board member of the Polish National Sleep Foundation that provides teaching courses on polysomnography and sleep medicine as well as other educational activities for profesionals and patients. She started to cooperate with EU-NN in 2009 and has become EU-NN member in 2013.